Goodbye 2019

Ok, so its time for a brief New Years Eve post to say goodbye to 2019.

I’ll be honest, this year which I had hoped would be better for our world hasnt given me much comfort.

As my last post attests, there are growing concerns about the decline of global freedom and a gradual assault on democracy across the Western World. Like a cycle that is bound to repeat itself, I wonder how much longer it will be before more people wake up and realise that environmental degradation (and climate change), economic and social inequality, the rise of authoritarianism, racism, superstition, fear and greed are not legacies we want to leave the next generation.

Despite a lingering despair about 2010s, the 2020’s present us with new opportunities to fight for those things that are important. Giving up is never an option and I look forward to engaging with more people over the coming year who share those common values that sustain a society that is built on inclusion, fairness and compassion.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a comment